Adoption Water — Remembering Wendy

Susie Finkbeiner

AdoptionI went to a funeral on Saturday. My friends, the Gingrich Family, were celebrating the life of their 33 year old daughter, Wendy.

Now, I’ve been to funerals where many stories were shared, but never like this. The stories shared about Wendy were beautiful and funny and make my cry just thinking about them.

The one that has stuck itself into my brain is about when she saw a cross. It’s important to note that Wendy had autism. It’s not important because it diminished her ability to live and love. Nope. It’s important because it gave her a different way of seeing the world. A way of looking at things that made me a better person. I know I am not the only one.

Anyway, as the story goes, Wendy’s parents had to take a detour on the way to church. She hated detours. Hated anything that was outside the…

View original post 300 more words

About prairie girl

I am a retired social worker and small business owner. I have struggled through 25 years of health challenges. But God has been faithful in giving me the strength and resources that I need to carry on. I am continually learning and growing.
This entry was posted in Between Me and God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

