Dear God

Dear God

Today I decided to buy my favorite treat, a salted pretzel with mustard.  I know I don’t need the extra calories, but that salty dough was just calling my name.  As I paid the bill, I said “Thank you Steve” to the clerk serving me.  He is an middle aged gentleman that I’ve noticed before.  He works really hard at such a menial job and always has a smile for everyone.  Today when I called him by name, his brown eyes jumped up and met mine.  His smile widened as he lifted up his head and squared his shoulders.

I wondered, does he feel invisible?  Does anyone acknowledge him for the hard work that he does?  Does he feel like nobody cares?

I wonder, did I make his day today?  Did I help him to feel that somebody cares about him?  One simple act – acknowledging his name.  Does it make a difference?  Did I make a difference today?

About prairie girl

I am a retired social worker and small business owner. I have struggled through 25 years of health challenges. But God has been faithful in giving me the strength and resources that I need to carry on. I am continually learning and growing.
This entry was posted in Between Me and God and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

